Anyone Still Out There?

Can it really be so long since I posed here? I guess the time stamp doesn’t lie, at least not by that much. This last year has been a rather crazy one, here is a recap of where I have been.

August last year I took off to visit family in the Midwest for my cousin’s wedding.

Then when I got back some SOB stole the headlight out of my car, it was the straw that broke the camels back and incited us to begin hunting for a new place to live and in literally two  weeks we had a new house (rental) and spent September and October moving and getting unpacked.

Then the holidays showed up and we all know how that goes. In January we got a new addition to the family, Georgie. She is a two year old Border Collie and a bundle of energy. Much of our time is spent trying to ware her out.

In the spring we started a garden and got a batch of baby chicks. The chicks are now quite big and should start providing us with eggs in another month or two.

Our biggest news of all is that in July we got hitched. We had a simple ceremony at SF City Hall and a nice BBQ reception in the backyard, the chickens were the toast of the party.

So that, in a very over simplified nut shell has been what we have been up to. Will kept up his lifting,  indeed he got a bench, a 300 lb bar set, a squat rack and has turned the garage and part of the yard into his “gym”. But aside from running Georgie around my workouts fell apart around when I took of to Wisconsin and have not really been reinstated, but it is time to change that.

It has been a hard year in a lot of ways for me, accepting the PCOS and its effects on the way I should eat have been rather difficult. After what feels like a life time of dieting, being told you have to change things when you already try to eat well is hard, mostly in an emotional way than a logistical way.  But it comes down to the simple fact that, if I don’t change things they will just get worse and not better. So here I am, back again and re-committing myself to keep trying to push forward again.

I am planning on doing a weekend long fast the 18th and 19th, mostly as an act of regaining control and because I feel I need a clean break from my current food habits. I’ll be drinking lots of water and will have a small meal at the end of each day. I don’t advocate fasting as any kind of diet, this is more about the mental exercise of taking control of my relationship with food and I don’t plan on making fasting a frequent thing. For more on fasting, check out this post over on The Great Fitness Experiment.

So, you are (at your own discretion) welcome to join me the 18th and 19th in my fast, or maybe just take the days to focus on drinking more water. The main thing is now that I have posted it on the internet I have to do it.

Glad to be back.

2 Comments

Filed under habits, Motivation

2 responses to “Anyone Still Out There?

  1. Ok, so I don’t know who you are but I found your website by accident and realized I AM YOU. PCOS and all. And I agree with your previous posts that it is annoying to have to kick sugar out of life :( Just thought I would add my 2 cents and tell you to keep up the good fight.

    • Liz

      Thanks for the comments, it is nice to know someone is out there and we are not alone in our feelings about this condition. I checked out your blog, love the fish post!

Leave a Reply

